La Société canadienne
de géotechnique
The Canadian
Geotechnical Society
La Société canadienne de géotechnique
The Canadian Geotechnical Society
Rock Mechanics
About the Rock Mechanics Division
The Rock Mechanics Division (RMD) strives to develop, maintain and promote communications and cooperation between practitioners of rock mechanics and geotechnical rock engineering. It provides its members with opportunities to present the results of professional activities by organizing events and activities to facilitate knowledge, experience and information transfer and exchange. It also provides its members with opportunities to upgrade and update their professional knowledge and skills.
Executive Committee
The Executive Committee of the Rock Mechanics Division consists of the following members:
Sam Proskin
Thurber Engineering
Calgary, AB
Past Chair
Jim Hazzard
ITASCA Consulting Group Toronto, ON
Thomas Lardner
University of Western Ontario London, ON
Chris Hawkes
University of Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, SK
Silvana Micic
Brampton, ON
Derek Kinakin
BGC Engineering
Vancouver, BC
Marc-Andre Brideau
BGC Engineering
Vancouver, BC
Jordan Severin
Vancouver, BC
Ehsan Ghazvinian
Queen's University
Kingston, ON
Chrysothemis Paraskevopoulou
Queen's University
Kingston, ON
Andy Corkum
BGC Engineering
Halifax, NS
Véronique Boivin
Sherbrooke, QC
Vice Chair

Affiliations with Other Organizations

The Rock Mechanics Division is affiliated with the Canadian Rock Mechanics Association (CARMA). CARMA is the Canadian representative of the International Society of Rock Mechanics (ISRM). Becoming a member of the CGS Rock Mechanics Division automatically makes you a member of CARMA and the ISRM. CARMA members have access to past conference proceedings and other material through the CARMA website. Benefits given to ISRM members include:

  • 1 copy of the ISRM News Journal
  • ISRM Newsletter
  • Access to the members area in the website (download of Suggested Methods and Reports, Rock Mechanics lectures, videos, slide collection, etc.)
  • Right to participate in the ISRM Commissions
  • Registration with a 20% discount in the ISRM Congress, International and Regional Symposia and Specialized Conferences
  • Personal subscription to the International Journal of Rock Mechanics and Mining Sciences at a discounted price (see details).
  • Personal subscription to the Journal Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering at a discounted price.
  • Free download of up to 100 papers per year from the ISRM Digital Library at OnePetro.


If you are a CGS Rock Mechanics member and have not received your access information from CARMA and the ISRM, please contact admin@cgs.ca


John A. Franklin Award

Established in 1993, the Award honours the past President of the International Society for Rock Mechanics (ISRM), John A. Franklin, for his outstanding contributions to the Canadian and international rock mechanics community, and to the Canadian Geotechnical Society. 

The award recognizes an individual who has recently made an outstanding and published technical contribution in the fields of rock mechanics or rock engineering in Canada and/or internationally. The eligibility for the award is restricted to either CGS members (need not be resident in Canada) or other individuals, resident in Canada, who have provided an outstanding service to the Canadian geotechnical community.

John A. Franklin Award presented in odd-numbered years, and will not be awarded in 2016.

Previous recipients of the John Franklin Award
 1994 P.K. Kaiser
 1995 (Not Awarded)
 1996 Derek Martin
 1997 (Not Awarded)
 1998 Maurice Dusseault
 1999 Michel Aubertin
 2000 (not awarded)
 2001 John Hadjigeorgiou
 2003 Jean Hutchinson
 2005 R. Paul Young
 2007 Mark S. Diederichs
 2009 Douglas Stead
 2011 Peter F. Stacey
 2013 Erik Eberhardt
 2015 Hani Mitri


Minutes from the ISRM Council Meeting May 2015

CFMR's 50th Anniversary Celebration will take place September 14, 2017 in Paris, France. Full details for the event can be found here.

Upcoming Events


Presentation of the 2013 John Franklin award to Erik Eberhardt (center) accompanied by CGS president Richard Bathurst (left) and Rock Mechanics Division chair Jim Hazzard (right)
Latest News
Reports / Documents
Rock Mechanics Division 2016 Annual Report
Rock Mechanics Division 2015 Annual Report
Please contact the Rock Mechanics Division at rockmechanics@cgs.ca if you have any comments or suggestions.