La Société canadienne
de géotechnique
The Canadian
Geotechnical Society
La Société canadienne de géotechnique
The Canadian Geotechnical Society
The Canadian
Cold Regions Geotechnology
About the Cold Regions Geotechnology Division
The Cold Regions Geotechnology Division (CRGD) of the CGS continues to move forward with initiatives aimed at increasing the visibility of the division. It is our mandate to promote and facilitate the advancement, exchange and transfer of knowledge, skills and experience in the field of Cold Regions Geotechnology for the benefit of division members and the profession.
Executive Committee
The current Executive Committee of the CRGD consists of the following members:
Ryley Beddoe
Royal Military College
Kingston, ON
Past Chair
Jack Seto
BGC Engineering Inc.
Edmonton, AB
Member at Large
Marolo Alfaro
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, MB
Member at Large
Simon Dumais
Université Laval
Québec City, QC
Member at Large
Ed Hoeve
HoevEng Consulting Ltd.
Yellowknife, NT
Member at Large
Heather Brooks
Université Laval
Québec City, QC

The Roger JE Brown Award

For outstanding contribution (publication or otherwise) to permafrost science or engineering. Since 2009, it has been awarded biannually in even-numbered years.

Established in 1986, the award honours Roger JE Brown (1931-1980), a renowned Canadian physical geographer and researcher in the field of permafrost. Dr. Brown spent his entire career, from 1953 with the Division of Building Research of National Research Council Canada. Among other things, he prepared the first map on the distribution of permafrost in Canada, published in 1967 and the first Canadian book on permafrost “Permafrost in Canada: Its Influence on Northern Development”, published in 1970.

The eligibility for the award is restricted to either CGS members or individuals who have provided outstanding service to the Canadian geotechnical community. Any CGS member can submit a nomination. The nomination must include a clear statement of the suitability of the nomination for the award.

Nomination Deadline: May 15


Previous recipients of the Roger JE Brown Award

1986 J. Ross Mackay

1987 K. Wayne Savigny and Norbert R. Morgenstern

1988 J.F. (Derick) Nixon

1989 Hugh M. French

1990 G.H. (Hank) Johnston

1991 Don W. Hayley

1992 P.L. Kurfurst and S.R. Dallimore

1993 Branko Ladanyi

1994 Kevin W. Biggar and David C. Sego

1995 Alan J. Hanna, Jim M. Oswell, E.C. McRoberts, J.D. Smith, T.W.Pridel

1996 Elizabeth Hivon and David C. Sego

1997 Jack I. Clark

1998 Michel Allard

1999 Alan Heginbottom

2000 Jean-Marie Konrad

2001 (Not awarded in 2001)

2002 Peter Williams

2003 Lorne Gold

2004 (Not awarded in 2004)

2005 Jean Côté and Jean-Marie Konrad.

2006 Jack D. Mollard

2007 Christopher Burn

2008 Margo Burgess

2009 (Not awarded in 2009)

2010 Lukas U. Arenson

2012 Jim Oswell

2014 Isabelle de Grandpré, Daniel Fortier and Eva Stephani

2016 Guy Doré



National, US, and International Affiliations

The Division is affiliated with the international organization: International Permafrost Association (IPA) through its Canadian National Committee (CNC-IPA) and maintains ties with the Cold Regions Division of ASCE.

Latest News
Reports / Documents
Upcoming Events


2nd Canadian & Cold Regions Rail Research Conference
Edmonton, Alberta
Read More
12th International Conference on Permafrost
Whitehorse, Yukon
Read More
ISC'7 Short Course - Non-Invasive Site Characterization Using Open-Source Tools
Barcelona, Spain
Read More
77th Annual Canadian Geotechnical Conference - GeoMontréal 2024
Bonaventure Hotel, Montréal, QC
Read More
Please contact the Cold Regions Geotechnology Division at info@cgs.ca if you have any comments or suggestions.