La Société canadienne
de géotechnique
The Canadian
Geotechnical Society
La Société canadienne canadienne de géotechnique
The Canadian Geotechnical Society
The Canadian
Manitoba (Winnipeg)
About the Manitoba Section
Formal Name: Manitoba Section
Primary Centre: Winnipeg, MB
Approximate Catchment Area: Manitoba

The Manitoba Section of the CGS hosts a number of activities throughout the year. Up to six technical presentations are held each year in addition to hosting the spring and fall Cross-Canada Lecture Tours. Technical short courses are offered every couple of years on topics relevant to today's geotechnical engineer presented by leaders in our field. Our annual fund-raising golf tournament brings together local geotechnical engineers and industry, all bidding for the “Atterberg Cup” awarded to the winning team. Funds raised from the golf tournament are donated to the Neil Burgess Memorial Scholarship Fund. The Neil Burgess Memorial Scholarship is awarded each year to a University of Manitoba graduate student in geotechnical engineering.
Executive Committee
The Executive Committee of the Manitoba Section consists of the following members:
Arjan Jianfar
Past Chair
Wingkeat Wong
Amec Foster Wheeler
Kirby Pogue
Earl Marvin De Guzeman
University of Manitoba
Program Director
David Anderson
KGS Group
Special Events
David Flynn
KGS Group
Student Liaison
Dylan Stafford
University of Manitoba
Special Initiative Co-ordinator
Steve Harms
Trek Geotechnical
Kevin Baylis
Stantec Consulting Ltd.
Section Director
Alena James
Manitoba Infrastructure
Upcoming Events


CGS Manitoba Golf Tournament 2017

Latest News
Reports / Documents
Manitoba Section 2017 Annual Report
Manitoba Section 2016 Annual Report
Manitoba Section 2015 Annual Report
Please contact the Manitoba Section at Manitoba@cgs.ca if you have any comments or suggestions.