La Société canadienne
de géotechnique
The Canadian
Geotechnical Society
La Société canadienne de géotechnique
The Canadian Geotechnical Society
Western Québec (Montréal)
About the Western Quebec Section
Formal Name: Western Québec Section
Primary Centre: Montréal, QC
Approximate Catchment Area: Western QC

This section has members from all regions of Western Québec, particularly from the regions of Montreal, Sherbrooke, Outaouais, Abitibi-Témiscamingue and Centre du Québec.
The Western Québec Section hosts technical presentations between September and June, a student contest in March and a conference dinner in June. The following activities were carried out in 2015-2016: 7 presentations (1 using videoconferencing), a student competition and a conference dinner. For 2017, the Western Québec Section will offer the other sections of Canada the opportunity to participate in its technical presentations by videoconference.
Executive Committee
The Executive Committee of the Western Québec Section consists of the following members:
Michael James
François Duhaime
École de technologie supérieure
Vice Chair
Alain Plaisant
CGS Section Director
Yannic Ethier
École de technologie supérieure
Dany Brault
Philippe Legault-Capozio
NCL Envirotek
Gholamreza Saghaee
Université McGill
Bibiana Narvarez
Ministère des Transports du Québec
Frederick Bolduc
Agnico Eagle
Student Member
Simon-Pierre Tremblay
Sherbrooke University
Upcoming Events


Left to right: Philippe Capozio (NCL Envirotek), Guy Doré (Université Laval), François Duhaime (president of the section), Michael James (IRME), Will McQueen (ConeTec).

Guy Doré ​was invited to give a lecture at the 2017 annual conference dinner.

Latest News
Reports / Documents
CCLT - Vaughan Griffiths
Western Québec Section 2016 Annual Report
Western Québec Section 2015 Annual Report
Conférence technique: François Tremblay, ing. M.Sc.A.
Souper-conférence annuel
Please contact the Western Québec Section at qcouest@gmail.com if you have any comments or suggestions.